Former Players Involved in Soccer

This list excludes former players who transferred to another school and players who have left the game and did not have established careers at a top division.

As one might expect, these players are found throughout the UCSB soccer record book.

Carin Jennings (1987) – current women’s head coach at Navy. Golden Ball winner at 1991 Women’s World Cup.

Tim Vom Steeg (1988) – current head coach at UCSB.

Thiago Martins (2000) – former MLS and Norway player.

Rob Friend (2003) – former Canadian international.  Played in Norway, Holland, Bundesliga, and MLS.

Neil Jones (2004) – current head coach of Loyola Chicago.

Dan Kennedy (2004) – former player for Chivas USA, Dallas FC, and LA Galaxy.

Tony Lochhead (2004) – former New Zealand international.  Played in MLS and A-League (Australian/New Zealand).

Nate Boyden (2005) – current coach with Chicago Fire Academy.

Ivan Becerra (2005) – current coach with Santa Barbara Soccer Club.

Bryan Byrne (2006) – currently runs  Soccer Cleats 101.  Former MLS player and footgolf champion.

Kyle Reynish (2006) – current player for Fresno FC.

Eric Avila (2007) – current player for Las Vegas Lights.

Greg Curry (2007) – current assistant coach at UCSB and coach at Santa Barbara Soccer Club.

Andy Iro (2007) – former MLS player.

Tino Nunez (2007) – current varsity head coach of Millikan high school girls soccer.

Alfonso Motagalvan (2008) – former player for Sacramento Republic.

Nick Perera (2008) – captain of US Beach Soccer team. Assistant coach at UCSD..

Chris Pontius (2008) – current player for LA Galaxy.

Danny Barrera (2010) – current player for Fresno FC.

Michael Boxall (2010) – current player for Minnesota United (South Africa).

Waid Ibrahim (2011) – current coach at Santa Barbara Players’ Academy.

James Kiffe (2011) – current player for Reno FC.

Luis Silva (2011) – current player for Real Salt lake.

Ema Boateng (2012) – current player for LA Galaxy.

Fifi Baiden (2013) – current coach at Santa Barbara Soccer Club.

Goffin Boyoko (2013) – current assistant coach for SBCC women’s team and coach at Santa Barbara Soccer Club.

Achille Campion (2013) – current player for Cork City (Ireland).

Sam Garza (2013) – current head coach of Marcus High School in Texas.

Javier Castro (2014) – current player for Moreno Valley FC.

Kevin Garcia-Lopez (2014) – current player for California United FC.

Geoffrey Acheampong (2015) -current player for LA Galaxy II.

Ismaila Jome (2015) – current player for Nashville SC.

Justin Vom Steeg (2015) – current player for LA Galaxy.

Seo-In Kim (2017) – current player at Qormi FC (Malta).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.